HomeLawCar crash in Nevada: A quick look at the state laws

Car crash in Nevada: A quick look at the state laws

-

Whether you live in the busy city of Las Vegas or anywhere else in Nevada, you are aware of the on-road dangers. Even when you are driving safely and within the speed limit, you could end up in an accident because of another party’s reckless action. No matter the circumstances, you deserve to know whether you have a claim and can recover compensation for the losses suffered. You need a Nevada accident attorney who will be your trusted aide and guide for the entire process, which usually starts with an insurance claim. In this post, we look at the state laws concerning auto accidents.

The statute of limitations

You cannot file a lawsuit against a driver for a mishap that happened five years ago. The statute of limitations prevents you from doing so. This is a law, which varies by state, that determines the deadline for filing a car accident lawsuit in the civil court. If you intend to file an insurance claim, which you should, it is pertinent to do so within a short time from the day of the crash. As for accident lawsuits, you have two years to act. If you want to sue the other party for property or vehicle damage alone, the deadline is three years.

Comparative Fault in Nevada

The comparative fault rule determines what a claimant gets from their case. Nevada is a modified comparative fault state. You are entitled to financial recovery only when your fault share (if any) is lower than the other driver (or parties involved). How does this rule work in real life? For instance, if you were 20% at fault and recovered $50,000 from the other party, you can only recover $40,000 as the final settlement. These calculations are complex, but the court and insurance company will rely on fault and liability to determine the outcome.

Call a lawyer early

Just knowing the car accident laws in Nevada is not enough. You need to act soon and find evidence to prove that the other party was responsible for the mishap and your losses. Get an attorney who is experienced with auto accident claims so that they can find details and deal with the insurance adjuster. Look for law firms based in your city and have competent lawyers for handling such legal matters.

You will only pay an attorney after you win, which is the norm for most injury lawsuits.

Related Post

Crimmigration Attorney: Navigating the Complex Intersection of Criminal Law and Immigration

In our law firm, we understand that the intersection of criminal law and immigration law—often referred to as 'crimmigration'—presents complex challenges for non-citizens. Changes in...

Can you change attorney in the middle of your personal injury case?

Trust is critical in any attorney-client relationship, even more so in a personal injury case. When a person has suffered a personal injury, chances are...

What Kind of Services Does Family Lawyers in Galveston, TX, Offer?

You may never want to consider hiring a family lawyer, but if you do, you should know what they do. This article will help you...

Most Popular